# Appendix T

# HONORARY ALDERMEN OF THE LONDON BOROUGH OF HARROW

Aldermen were abolished under the Local Government Act 1972. However section 249(1) of the Act created a statutory right for London Borough councils to confer the title "Honorary Alderman" on a person who had rendered eminent service as a past member who was no longer a member. The title remained for life.

Since the passing of the Act, two Honorary Aldermen have been created in Harrow. **Albert Keith Toms** was appointed in July 2006. He had served as a councillor for 32 continuous years: from 1974-1978 in Harrow Weald ward and from 1978-2006 in Kenton East ward. He was Mayor, 1997-1998. Alderman Toms died suddenly on 6 April 2022.

In June 2014 **Richard David Romain** was appointed Harrow's second Honorary Alderman. He too had served for 32 continuous years as a councillor: from 1982-1986 in Stanmore South ward and from 1986-2014 in Canons ward.

Honorary Aldermen receive invitations to all Civic and social events and can represent the Mayor of Harrow, and the Borough, at public functions.

## Appendix U

# FREEMEN OF THE BOROUGH OF HARROW

The following is a list of the individuals who have been granted the Freedom of the Borough since the incorporation of Harrow as a borough in 1954.

#### Sir Winston Leonard Spencer-Churchill, KG OM CH TD DL FRS HonRA

Freedom granted 30 September 1955, died 24 January 1965.

Churchill had been a pupil at Harrow School from 1888-92 and was Prime Minister 1940-45 and 1951-55.

## William Ody Allen, OBE JP

Freedom granted 29 July 1968, died 9 November 1983.

Allen served continuously on Harrow Council from 1936 until 1968, first as a Labour Party councillor for Stanmore South ward and from 1954 as an alderman.

#### Alfred Ernest Amor. CBE BSc FRPS

Freedom granted 29 July 1968, died 4 October 1985.

A former pupil of Harrow County School for Boys, Amor had been Chairman and Managing Director of Kodak Limited. (Kodak's principal manufacturing facility in the UK was based in Headstone Drive, having been founded there in 1890.)

# Charles Ernest Jordan, JP

Freedom granted 29 July 1968, died 26 August 1982.

Jordan served continuously on Harrow Council from 1947 until 1971, first as a Conservative Party councillor for Headstone ward and from 1954 as an alderman.

## Gilbert Francis Telfer, MM JP

Freedom granted 29 July 1968, died 2 February 1979.

Telfer was a councillor on Harrow Weald Parish Council 1925-34 and a district councillor for the parish on Hendon Rural District Council 1925-34. He then served as a Ratepayer Association councillor for Harrow Weald ward 1934-45. Chairman of the Bench of Magistrates, Gore Division, 1962-65.

#### Sir Horace Walter Cutler, OBE IP

Freedom granted 16 December 1976, died 2 March 1997.

Cutler was a Conservative Party councillor for Pinner South ward 1952-59 and an alderman 1959-65. He was also Middlesex County councillor for Harrow North-West division (1955-65) and later a Greater London councillor for Harrow 1964-73 and for Harrow West 1973-85. Leader of the GLC 1977-81.

# Henry George Gange, OBE JP

Freedom granted 16 December 1976, died 11 September 1984.

Gange served continuously on Harrow Council from 1935 until 1978, first as Labour Party councillor for Wealdstone North ward and from 1954 as an alderman; he was the only Labour member of the Council 1968-71. In May 1971 he was re-elected as a councillor for Wealdstone North: he wished to receive a fresh mandate from his constituents rather than assume that he would be re-elected to the aldermanic bench.

# Sir Roger Gilbert Bannister, CBE

Freedom granted 4 May 2004, died 3 March 2018.

Bannister was born in Harrow and was a pupil at Vaughan Primary School. The freedom was granted to mark the fiftieth anniversary of his achievement in being the first person to complete a mile run in less than four minutes. Bannister's time of 3 minutes 59.4 seconds occurred on 6 May1954 at Iffley Road Track, Oxford.

# Sir Paul Maxime Nurse, FRS FREng

Freedom granted 7 July 2011.

Nurse was a former pupil at Harrow County Grammar School. He is a noted scientist, being a geneticist and former President of the Royal Society. In 2001 he was jointly awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for the discovery of protein molecules that control the division (duplication) of cells in the cell cycle.

## **Christine Anne Bednell**

Freedom granted 19 July 2018.

Miss Bednell served as a Conservative councillor on Harrow Council for a total of 47 years over a 50 year period. First elected in 1968 for Wealdstone North ward, Miss Bednell lost her seat in 1971 but was re-elected in 1974 for West Harrow ward. She then represented Ridgeway ward (1978-86) and Stanmore Park ward (1986-2018).

## **Albert Keith Toms**

Freedom granted 16 July 2020, died 6 April 2022.

A teacher by profession and originally from the South Wales valleys, Toms served as a Labour councillor on Harrow Council for 32 continuous years (1974-2006). First elected for Harrow Weald ward, Toms transferred to Kenton East ward in 1978. He was appointed an Honorary Alderman in July 2006.