APPENDICES

Appendix A

CHAIRMEN OF THE URBAN DISTRICT COUNCILS

HARROW-ON-THE-HILL URBAN DISTRICT COUNCIL

Years Chair	man	Vice-Chairman
1895-1897 W.J. (Overhead	O.A. Saunders
1897-1898 W.J. (Overhead	Dr. E.W.H. Stiven
1898-1903 Dr. E.	.W.H. Stiven *	J. Hawkins †
1903-1906 J. Hay	wkins	B.P. Lascelles
1906-1909 B.P. L	ascelles	S.W. Hunt
1909-1911 S.W.	Hunt	D. Pitcairn ‡
1911-1912 J. Hay	wkins	J.A. Smith
1912-1913 J. Hav	wkins	T. Charles
1913-1920 T. Ch	arles	J. O'Brien
1920-1921 B.P. L	ascelles	J.H. Baker
1921-1922 J.H. E	Baker	Dr. W.S. Darby
1922-1923 G.H.	Exeter	A.H. Bartle
1923-1924 E.W.	de W. Bruce	V.D. Dempster
1924-1925 V.D.	Dempster	Dr. J.D.C. White
1925-1927 Dr. J.	D.C. White	M.F.M.S. Kittoe
1927-1928 A.N.	Tuck	M.F.M.S. Kittoe
1928-1929 M.F.M	A.S. Kittoe	W.W. Symper
1929-1930 W.W	. Symper	F.E. Mordant
1930-1931 T. Ch	arles	G.H. Exeter
1931-1932 G.H.	Exeter	E.W. de W. Bruce
1932-1933 E.W.	de W. Bruce	F.E. Mordant
1933-1934 T. Ch	arles	V.D. Dempster

- * Died July 1902. J. Hawkins elected Chairman.
- + Elected Chairman July 1902. B.P. Lascelles elected Vice-Chairman.
- Died November 1910.

WEALDSTONE URBAN DISTRICT COUNCIL

Years	Chairman	Vice-Chairman
1894-1899	J. Smither	W.A. Jepson
1899-1900	W.A. Jepson	E.J. Powell
1900-1901	E.J. Powell	R. Balk
1901-1902	W.A. Jepson	J.T. Draper
1902-1903	J.R. Newman	A. Dodd
1903-1904	J.R. Newman	J. How
1904-1905	F.W. Wale	J. How
1905-1906	C. Twinn	H.W. Job
1906-1908	J. How	R. Balk
1908-1909	H. Drury *	C. Twinn †
1909-1910	F.W. Wale	A.E. Green
1910-1911	A.E. Green	R. Balk
1911-1912	A.E. Green	A.S. Meikle
1912-1913	F.W. Wale	J. Favell
1913-1914	F.W. Wale	R. Balk
1914-1915	R. Balk	J.H. Searcy
1915-1916	J.H. Searcy	R.J. Hurford
1916-1917	C. Twinn	G. Clarke
1917-1918	J. How	H.E. Harwood
1918-1919	C. Twinn	W.H. Taylor
1919-1920	G. Clarke	W.H. Taylor
1920-1921	G. Clarke	P. Porter
1921-1922	J. How	W.J. Meller
1922-1923	W.G. Collard	H.E. Cross
1923-1924	W.J. Meller	P. Porter
1924-1925	C. Twinn	P. Porter
1925-1926	J. How	C.M. Rose
1926-1927	C.M. Rose	F.J. Cresswell
1927-1928	F.J. Cresswell	W. Bryon
1928-1929	F.J. Cresswell	H. Phippard
1929-1930	H.C. Stutfield	W.S. Rainbow
1930-1931	H.C. Stutfield	G. Hullah
1931-1932	G. Hullah	H.S. Pickthall
1932-1933	H.C. Stutfield	H.S. Pickthall
1933-1934	H.C. Stutfield	H.E. Norman

* Died June 1908. C. Twinn elected Chairman.

+ Elected Chairman July 1908. G.E. Farnham elected Vice-Chairman.

KINGSBURY URBAN DISTRICT COUNCIL

Years	Chairman	Vice-Chairman
1900-1901	J.J. Done *	T.S. Anderson
1901-1903	J.J. Done	H. Ward
1903-1904	M. Kidner	H. Ward
1904-1905	D.D. Bulger †	M. Kidner
1905-1906	J. Diaz ‡	M. Kidner ‡
	H.H. Spicer ¶	
1906-1907	H. Ward	R. Pettitt
1907-1908	J. Diaz	J.J. Walker
1908-1909	J. Diaz	A. Lawrence
1909-1911	J. Diaz	T. Noad
1911-1912	J. Diaz	J.J. Walker
1912-1913	J. Diaz	T. Noad
1913-1915	J. Diaz	H. Johnson
1915-1916	J. Diaz §	J.W. Reeves **
1916-1917	J.W. Reeves	W.M. Bird
1917-1922	J.W. Reeves	A. McIntyre
1922-1923	J.W. Reeves	L. Stanley
1923-1926	J.W. Reeves	S. Lee
1926-1927	J.W. Reeves	A. McIntyre
1927-1928	J.W. Reeves	C. Brown
1928-1929	J.W. Reeves	F.S. Bennett
1929-1930	Mrs. G.H. Millward	E.T. Ashman
1930-1931	E.T. Ashman	W.B. Hill
1931-1932	W.B. Hill	D.G. Griffith
1932-1933	E.H. Everett	W.J. Thomas
1933-1934	W.J. Thomas	A.W. Clarke

- * John J. Done, of Shoelands, The Hyde. He was a prominent parishioner (arising from his role as a land agent for All Souls College) but not a councillor.
- + Bulger was not a councillor. He withdrew his nomination papers for the 1904 election, having served as a member following a by-election in January 1902.
- The Chairmanship was vacant April-May as the members could not agree. Diaz was elected in May; Kidner was elected in his absence despite leaving the meeting after Diaz's election. Diaz resigned in September he was not a naturalised British subject. Between October and December there was no Chairman as meetings were inquorate.
- In Elected December 1905 after the Clerk received notice from the Middlesex County Council that the quorum of the Council could be two members. At subsequent meetings Spicer's rulings were frequently contested which would lead to meetings being adjourned. However, the remaining Councillors would continue the meeting, installing H. Ward as the Chairman.
- § Died 17 July 1915.
- ** Elected Chairman 28 July 1915. W.M. Bird elected Vice-Chairman.